The Coma

3rd book of the year : The Coma by Alex Garland.

A very thin book with a lot of illustrations, these drawings were done by Alex Garland’s father, Nicholas Garland. I liked the drawings, they really suited the story well. I even think I liked the drawings better than the writing ..

Throughout the book I was happy knowing it was a very small book and I would finish it in 1 or 2 sittings. I wasn’t very found of the book, never really got hooked. I didn’t think the main character was interesting nor his story. I don’t want to be too harsh though, Garland is a very good writer and The Coma is very well written. I just never got into the whole story.

Waking was the most reliable part of a dream, as built into dreams as death is to life. You dream, you wake: you live, you die.

The main character was beaten and got into a coma, we follow him while he is ‘dreaming’ in his coma. He realises he is in a coma and tries to get out of it. The entire book is a sort of dream where the character moves from one place to another without knowing how he got there etc. I did kinda like this because I’m into the whole ‘dreaming’ thing. I dream very heavily myself and I read a lot about lucid dreaming and dream control. So that’s what made the book not an entire disappointment for me.

I had high hopes for this one, I really like Alex Garland. He wrote scripts for movies I really liked a lot, also The Beach is a book I enjoyed very much many years ago. Maybe I’m not fair and I should reread it in a year or so. I have a feeling I missed something and that its my fault it was a disappointment. Not sure.

I don’t regret reading the book, it made me think a lot about my own dreams and the possibilities to control them.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

