The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

Image via Wikipedia

Second book of the year : The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao written by Junot Díaz.
I had absolutely no idea what to expect from this one. I did not read the back of the book or researched anything about the writer or the book before I started reading it.
I bought the book more than a year ago at a book fair only knowing it won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. It definitely deserved the prize.

Reading this book was an amazing experience and an emotional rollercoaster. The story is about Oscar, his family and the dark history and hard life they have to lead.
The book can be hilarious and I really liked the nerdy aspect of Oscar. Reminded me of some people I used to know when I was into computer gaming.
Though often funny, I found this book to be very dark. Oscar’s life and the history of his family is filled with horrifying and disastrous events. Specially the story of his grandfather was a very dark one and was told in such a realistic manner that even I started to fear for my own children ( though I don’t have children, yet).
This was my favorite part of the book, I was more emotionally attached to Oscar’s grandfather then to Oscar himself, who was after all the main character of the book.

The ending was great and very fulfilling. It made me think a lot about my own life and what I want from the future. And it definitely made me realise how lucky I am to be able to write my own opinions and feelings without being sliced into pieces by an evil dictator.

That’s life for you. All the happiness you gather to yourself, it will sweep it away like it’s nothing. If you ask me I don’t think there are any such things as curses. I think there is only life. That’s enough.

Tuesday, I crashed my car getting back from work. Luckily no one got hurt. I have to buy myself a new car though. I stayed very relaxed the entire week and could not stop thinking about Oscar and the things he and his family had to go through. Crashing my car just didn’t compare to their misery.
It sounds a bit strange and corny, I know. But this is why I decided to do this challenge. I wanted to grow as a person, become a better human being and realise what I want out of life.

It’s only my second book and I feel both books already tought me some very valuable lessons I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

Thank you mister Díaz.

 

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

  1. Thank you for introducing this book. I have added this to my Amazon Wish List. Fiction is mostly unchartered territory for me, but I’ll give this one a shot 🙂

  2. You wont regret it.

    Your blog (which I love) gave me the idea of reading 52 non-fiction/self development books in 2013. This should be immensely interesting.
    So already looking forward to that ! 🙂 But first, succeed this challenge in 2012.

Leave a Reply

